Accent Burg

inside info to all the latest music in the Burg!

Not a Planet playing Homecoming Bash this friday night at Neptune! October 6, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessie Riggins @ 11:38 am

Hey guys! Homecoming is fast approaching us, and with homecoming come some kick ass shows! First I want to tell you guys about Luherman, Shaffer, and Check playing saturday night at a house party. This house is affectionately known as the “trumpet house” to the music major crew at UCM, but anyone is welcome to come on over, as long as you aren’t douches! :) It is on Anderson Street, just a couple doors down from the UCC and Ellis.

But the most exciting news is the show that Neptune will have friday night! Some of my all time favorites on the local music scene are all playing one show, and it WILL be the place to be friday night. Bravefellow, Not A Planet, Paperclips, and Boo Radley Project are all playing! So get there early enough that you can see them all, because they are ALL soooooo fantastic!

The guys from Not A Planet did a short interview with us:

ACCENT BURG: What have you learned about being “on the road” that you didn’t really expect?
NOT A PLANET:
Liam: I didn’t know incredibly different every single day is. Different kinds of people every day. Different surroundings every day. One day you could play a huge show and end up in the ritziest after party in the most exclusive club, and the next day, play a dive to 3 people.

AB: What encourages you to keep going and keep making music?
NP:
Nate: The response to our music is really encouraging. It’s almost always very well received, and that seems rare. It’s encouraging. You can’t stop making music. Can’t stop doing what comes naturally.
Liam: Sometimes I wonder. No one in their right mind would pursue this. But there is nothing that I want to do more, and that’s been true for a long time. You have ups and downs, but if you keep going up in the long run, it keeps you going. This is a long and hard road, but nothing could be more worth the effort.
Ryan: My grandma said, “If you like doing it, you’re probably good at it.” You could quote my grandmother.

AB: Do you play any other instruments than the ones you use in Not A Planet?
NP:
Liam: In addition to the drums and vocals I play a little timpani and other percussion instruments. The tambourine, cajon, bongos, that kind of thing.
Nate: I play the ukulele, mandolin, harmonica, in addition to the guitar and singing.
Ryan: Guitar, harmonica, piano & keys, in addition to bass and vocals.

AB: Who/What got you started in music?
NP:
Ryan: I had a friend in 7th grade who played guitar. I thought it was cool, so I started playing, too.
Nate: I had to move with my parents when I was 8, so I convinced them to get me a guitar. Sort of a consolation prize for losing all my friends; A black strat. It’s heavily modified now, and I still play it.
Liam: I started the snare drum in the school band when I was about 10. And somewhere between then and now, I started playing the full kit, and decided that was it for me.

AB: What is a typical rehearsal like for Not A Planet?
Nate: Grueling
Liam: We focus on different things for every rehearsal. Right now, we’ll have a harmony practice, then a metronome practice, then a “don’t worry about playing it right, just go crazy!” practice. Then we put ‘em all together. We can easily spend an hour or two on songs we’ve been playing for months.

AB: Is there a designated songwriter in the band, or is it a joint effort?
NP:
Nate: It’s a joint effort. Depending on the song, there’s always a different process on how it begins. The music is a joint effort to create, and while I write the lyrics, they’re sometimes influenced by words misheard and misinterpreted by the rest of the band.
Liam: Somebody in the band will start goofing on a riff in practice. Then somebody will say they dig it, or just start playing to it. Then others join in, Nate’ll start singing a melody, and we’ll take it from there. By the time most of our songs are done, they’ve gone through more versions than an international plane goes through time zones.

AB: What comes first, the music or the lyrics?
NP:
The music. Always the music.

AB: Who would be your dream collaboration, either personally or as the band?
NP:
Nate: In my wildest dreams, I would love to collaborate with Paul McCartney.

AB: What has been your biggest challenge as a band?
NP:
Nate: Keeping a solid lineup.
Liam: It’s hard to be in the infancy of a touring band. We’ve only been around for a little over a year, so just like a new business, the band doesn’t make much money. We elect to put all the money back into the band for now. This means we have to find ways to make money, and holding down a job when you’re hitting the road is a challenge. There’s a reason people call you a starving artist.

AB: IF you had to give up music, what would you do to be creative?
NP:
Liam: Graphic design.
Nate: Probably write. No, no. I would produce. Does that count for giving it up?

AB: How can future fans get a hold of your music?
NP:
http://facebook.com/notaplanet will be the best place to get downloads for free (or sale) and keep in touch with us.

Not A Planet is one of my favorite bands I have heard come through Warrensburg in a long long long long time, so you know that they must be good! They are definitely the band not to miss this friday night at the Neptune (as well as our friends Boo Radley Project).

Find me at either show, Friday or Saturday, and come chat me up! You know I will be there all night for both :)

Catch ya Later!
Jessie

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.